Edit an Inventory Location
This page describes procedures for environments using Inventory Management (New Method).
If your screen layout differs from the one shown on this page, refer to the Inventory Management (Conventional Method) manuals.
Overview
This section explains how to edit and update an existing location in Inventory Management (New Method).
Purpose
Use this feature to review existing location information according to your operations and keep the settings used for inventory location management up to date.
By continuously reviewing and managing location information, more detailed location units, such as buildings and shelves, can be handled using a common standard.
Feature Description
What is a location?
A location represents a more detailed unit, such as a building or shelf, within a facility.
In Inventory Management (New Method), inventory is tracked by linking it to facilities and locations.
If you want to create a new location, see Create an Inventory Location.
Location Type
Location Type is a required field representing the kind of location.
The location types you can select are as follows:
- Storage: A generic storage location for regular stock.
- Storage area: A large area inside a warehouse that groups multiple zones.
- Zone: A section within a storage area, separated by temperature range or purpose.
- Shelf: A single physical shelf unit.
- Bin: A bin inside a shelf.
- Slot: A finer subdivision inside a bin or shelf.
Allocation and Search Settings
Configure settings related to inventory allocation and search for the location.
- Use this location as an allocation source.: Set whether inventory in the location can be used as an allocation source for automatic and manual allocation against orders.
- Use this location for automatic allocation.: Set whether inventory in this location is included in automatic allocation against orders when the location can be used as an allocation source.
- Allow stock filtering by this location.: Set whether this location appears in the filter options when filtering inventory by location.
When using a location for automatic order allocation, configure it in combination with allocation rules. For details on allocation rules, see Create an Inventory Allocation Rule.
Instructions
Navigate to the location edit screen
- Click the Inventory menu.
- Click the Settings tab.
- Click Facilities and locations.
- Click the Details button for the facility where the location you want to edit is registered.
The "Facility detail" page opens. - Click the Edit button for the location you want to edit.
The "Edit Location" modal opens.
How to fill out the form
Edit the input fields as necessary.
-
Location Type
Select the type of location using the radio buttons. Location Type is a required field.The location types you can select are as follows:
- Storage
- Storage area
- Zone
- Shelf
- Bin
- Slot
-
Code
Enter the code to identify the location. Code is a required field. -
Display Name
Enter the display name of the location. Display Name is a required field. -
Storage condition
You can select from None, Ambient, Refrigerated, Frozen, and Light protected. -
Barcode
Enter the barcode of the location. -
Use this location as an allocation source.
Set whether to use this location as an allocation source for automatic and manual allocation using the checkbox.- Use this location as an allocation source. is enabled: This location is used as an allocation source.
- Use this location as an allocation source. is disabled: This location is not used as an allocation source. However, it can still be used for explicit operations such as inventory transfer and inventory adjustment.
-
Use this location for automatic allocation.
Set whether to use this location as an allocation source for automatic allocation using the checkbox.- Use this location for automatic allocation. is enabled: This location is used as an allocation source for automatic allocation.
- Use this location for automatic allocation. is disabled: This location is not used as an allocation source for automatic allocation. However, it can still be used for explicit operations such as manual allocation, inventory transfer, and inventory adjustment.
If Use this location as an allocation source. is disabled, automatic allocation will not be performed even if Use this location for automatic allocation. is enabled.
-
Allow stock filtering by this location.
Set whether this location appears in the filter options when filtering inventory using the checkbox.- Allow stock filtering by this location. is enabled: This location appears in the filter options when filtering inventory.
- Allow stock filtering by this location. is disabled: This location is excluded from the filter options when filtering inventory.
Update the location
Review the entered information and click the Update location button.
If the process is successful, the location information is updated.
Important Notes
Code and display name are required
Code and Display Name are required fields. You cannot update the location if either field is blank or contains only spaces.
Before updating the location, make sure both fields are entered.
Behavior when allocation and search settings are disabled
Even if you disable Use this location as an allocation source., inventory in the location will not be deleted. It can still be used for explicit operations such as inventory transfer and inventory adjustment.
If Use this location as an allocation source. is disabled, automatic allocation will not occur even if Use this location for automatic allocation. is enabled.
If you disable Allow stock filtering by this location., it will be excluded from the filter options in the inventory list.
How changes to allocation settings are applied
Even if you change a location's allocation settings, allocations completed before the change remain in place.
Changing the settings alone does not trigger retroactive automatic allocation for existing unallocated quantities or pending orders.
When a new allocation is made after the settings change, the location settings in effect at that time are applied.
Facility and location settings are shared at the maker level
The Facilities and locations settings are shared at the maker level and are applied to all brands under the same maker.